Bell Harry by Nicholas Best

Bell Harry by Nicholas Best

For hundreds of years the secrets of the tower were concealed. Until now…

In 1179, King Louis VII of France came to Canterbury to visit the shrine of St Thomas Becket. He brought a fabulous gift with him: A magnificent, blood-red ruby.

For hundreds of years, the Régale de France held pride of place at Becket’s tomb in the cathedral. Richard the Lionheart, Chaucer, Henry V and Richard III all admired the jewel as they prayed at the shrine. The ruby vanished during the reign of Henry VIII, but people kept coming to see the place where Becket was murdered.

Over everyone’s head loomed Bell Harry, the cathedral’s three hundred feet tall tower. After a German bombing raid of 1 June 1942, the tower survived, but a Luftwaffe bomb revealed a hidden tunnel leading straight towards the cathedral. When three American soldiers decided to investigate, they had no idea what they would find…

Bell Harry is a captivating tale of the echoes of history, perfect for fans of Wilbur Smith and Robert Harris.

Nicholas Best grew up in Kenya. He was the fiction critic for the Financial Times before becoming a fulltime author. His books are translated into many languages, and he has been shortlisted for the Sunday Times Short Story Award.

Get your copy here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *