Blackshirt Sets the Pace by Roderic Jeffries

An attempted suicide turns into a murder: the is a mystery for Blackshirt!

In the early hours of the morning, John Trayner jumped from a bridge parapet into the Thames river below. By some miracle, he’s rescued, alive and well. But why would a man who has a successful career, no jealous or quarrelsome lovers at home, and of prefect health, attempt suicide? The only criminal record Trayner has was a minor offence of marijuana use in his students years. But with no other clues, the police leave the matter alone.

Then a few days later, John Trayner is killed by a lorry. Whilst Head of Security, Wright is concerned that it’s another suicide attempt – gone horribly right – a witness says a second man pushed him. If that’s the case, poor Trayner was murdered.

With little to go on, Wright calls in the help of the infamous cracksmith, Richard Verill – alias Blackshirt. And as Verill investigates, he stumbles on a conspiracy far greater than either he and Wright ever expected…

Another installment to the popular Blackshirt series, Blackshirt Sets the Pace is a thrilling crime mystery. With plenty of wit and humour, Roderic Jeffries’s novel is sure to entertain until the very last word. Perfect for fans of John Burke and Alan Scholefield.

Roderic Jeffries was born in London in 1926 and was educated at Harrow View House Preparatory School and the Department of Navigation, University of Southampton. He was called to the Bar in 1953, and after one year’s pupillage, practiced law for a few terms during which time there to write full time. His first book, a sea story for juveniles, was published in 1950.

Get your copy here

Posted in Criminal Endeavours.