The Hemp House by Bernie Crosthwaite

The Hemp House by Bernie Crosthwaite

Jude Baxendale is trying her best to simply live her life – stay in touch with her son at college, take assignments from the paper, survive the small town life of Ravensbridge. But the paper is suffering; cutbacks mean their team of three will become a team of one. Faced with the prospect of fighting for her job, Jude heads out to grab some photos of the latest town incident – there’s a freerunner running loose in the middle of town. When the runner jumps from the roof of the local theater and dies, it sends her into a tailspin – why would he do that?

As she pokes around the theatre to see if there are any connections, she starts uncovering dark, sordid histories of some of the actors. When another member of the theatre turns up dead in the hemp house, Jude knows that this isn’t a coincidence. As she digs deeper, her life and the life of her loved ones are thrown into jeopardy by those who want the past to stay buried.

The Hemp House is another brilliant mystery thriller from Bernie Crosthwaite. This snapshot of mystery in a small town is perfect for fans of Mary Higgins Clark or Agatha Christie.

Bernie Crosthwaite has written plays for radio and stage, and has won awards for her short stories, several of which have been broadcast on Radio 4. Her first crime novel, If It Bleeds, featuring press photographer Jude Baxendale, was longlisted for the new writing prize at the Guildford Book Festival. She lives in North Yorkshire.

Get your copy here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *