This Shining Land by Rosalind Laker

This Shining Land by Rosalind Laker

Johanna will defend the country she loves at any cost. But what if the man she loves is in danger?

Dawn April 9th, 1940. The Germans arrive, and change Johanna Ryen’s life forever. During an air raid Johanna meets the charismatic Steffen Larsen, leader of the Norwegian resistance movement. The urgency of war propels them swiftly into love – and with equal swiftness the cause for which they both fight forces them apart.

Her brothers are arrested for defying the Nazi regime; her father’s life is held in the balance by a German soldier; her cousin becomes a treacherous collaborator. Yet despite the danger to her and Steffen’s love, she remains undaunted. Then one day she is brought before the Gestapo after a daring Resistance coup…

This Shining Land is a mesmerizing story of men and women caught in the violence of war. Perfect for fans of Sebastian Faulks’ Birdsong, and Jennifer Worth.

Rosalind Laker is the pen name of Barbara Ovstedal, who also wrote under the pseudonyms Barbara Paul and Barbara Douglas. Her many books include The Sugar Pavilion and To Dance with Kings. and they have been translated into over twenty languages.

Get your copy here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *